Andy Postell's Blog


Thoughts from Sunday
October 19, 2009, 4:32 pm
Filed under: Sundays

Should church be something that we WANT to attend? I had someone come up to me after my message and introduce themselves. They told me that they were at church for the very first time. They told me that they came because someone who visited for the very first time last week had called them and told them that they had to come with them this Sunday. The guy went on to tell me that his greatest observation was that it was amazing that people seemed excited to be at church. He said that he had never seen that. He plans to come back because he said he was leaving WANTING to return and that was an unexpected experience.

Should church be a place where people feel like their voices are heard? I had another person come to me after the message that has been coming to The Well since we started. They told me that they had been at another church prior to The Well and that my message really spoke to them. They said that they had approached their previous church with the same things that I preached about and no one would listen. Now, I have no idea how the conversations took place but this person’s perception was that they were not being heard. Perception is often reality to most people. This person was so excited because they felt like even though the people in the church had not heard them – God had and that The Well was an answer to their prayer years ago.

 Should church be a place where we are not afraid to look at other religions? We gathered last night to look at the Hindu faith and what are some of there main beliefs. We compared their beliefs to the basic beliefs of Christianity. Our reasoning was simple – if God calls us to reach out to everyone – shouldn’t we know what they believe. After the study, I had someone mention that they really enjoyed the study because we were not afraid to examine other faith traditions. They said they felt more prepared to engage someone of the Hindu faith – maybe not in a purely theological discussion – but they would not be afraid to talk about what they believe as a Christian.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment