Andy Postell's Blog


Promises of God
January 2, 2013, 1:00 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

The story of Noah always intrigues me. Read Genesis 4-7. I read his story and wonder – would I have built the ark? You have to imagine that people scoffed at him and ridiculed his family as a result of his actions. Yet, the Scriptures are clear – “Noah did everything just as God commanded him” (6:22). I listen to his story and am amazed at his resolve, his certainty, and his faith. What allowed him to push through the ridicule and stay focused on the task that God had given him? In my opinion, it is the covenant that God makes in 6:18. God declared the covenant and Noah probably knew that God was going to take care of him and his family. His story always encourages me to think about what God has promised me. He promises me that when I don’t understand, I can lean on Him and he will help me. (Proverbs 3:5-6) He promises me that when I walk through dark times, He will be with me. (Psalm 23:4) He promises me that in those dark times and any other time in my life, He will never leave me. (Hebrews 13:5). He promises me that His actions are out of love because God is love. (1 John 4:8) He promises me that if I believe in Him, I will live with Him forever. (John 11:25-26) I could go on and on but these are the promises of God that help drive me to be able to do what God asks. I will never know exactly the thought process that allowed Noah to do what appears to be a pretty crazy thing – build a boat for a flood even though the people at this time had never seen rain. But, I know that God has asked me to do some pretty crazy things: (1) start a church with no people, (2) forgive people who had hurt me but never apologized, (3) love people who I perceive to be my enemy, (4) serve other people when I would prefer to think about myself, and (5) give the first part of my money away to the church. The reason I can do these things and the reason that I think Noah could build an ark is because God has made a promise and God IS faithful. So, what crazy thing has God asked you to do and what promises do you lean on? Lets share our stories together in an effort to remind each other of all the promises that God has made.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

